My Animals and Other family by Clare Balding

Product Details

I just loved this book, Clare doesn’t need this book review, so I am writing of the effect this book had on me! Clare had my dream childhood in SOOO many ways, loads of horses to ride, dogs , an countryside home, a brother who was a mate and one parent who was ok!  All those stables and horses, my dream.  She had problems like me, such as getting clothes so she could fit in at school and even fitting in at school and making innocent blunders that were seen as terrible by the parents.

What struck me was her bitterness towards her father which is quite understandable. It was made clear to her from the start that as a female she didn’t rate and her father consistently didn’t remember any of her achievements. But she recounts most of her escapades with humour and clear sight, it so explains her personality. I didn’t have a father, which is maybe easier than having such a prat of a one but maybe he was of his time and generation. Maybe mine would have been the same, but I could compose him exactly as I wanted him and he was ‘One of the Few.

What I got the most from this was inspiration that it is possible to write about events with humour, passion and objectivity. I’ve been thinking of writing about my own childhood for a while, but had felt its negative aspects would make it difficult to write, but not with Clare’s model.  Thank you, and do so I envy you all those horses!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

