Agatha Raisin and the Christmas Crumble

Agatha Raisin and the Christmas Crumble (short story)

This short story goes to prove that putting a freebie out does pull in the readers, because I’m hooked. I’m so glad that there’s a whole series about Mrs Raisin which will keep me occupied for months.  I just so identified with this middle aged lady, her moving to a new home, her grumpiness and her trouble seeing if she can fit in.  It’s all so wonderfully English, but under the humourous tale of a mysterious murder are often acutely  observed scenarios of country life and descriptions of the countryside itself (of course I’ve now read other books so maybe not all these ingredients are in this tale).  Mega.  Books written for me!

My only grumble is that the previous must be explained in the narrative, e.g. she moved here when she retired early. This annoys me in sequels where the narrator must interject and spell it all out for the new reader.  I would simply have an introduction that explains all and let the new reader do that.

Still, a real find for me, I’m set up for good reads for a long time! Oh, and Miss Marple, eat your heart out!!!!

Leave a Reply

