Horses and Heroin by Bev Pettersen

HORSES AND HEROIN (Romantic Mystery)

When I was in hospital recently I had a real rummage on the kindle and ditched many more books than I read, usually on basis of the first few pages and this nearly lost me with the spoken ‘Americanish’, but I read on and soon was engrossed.

Of course, the horses are always a real pull for me and there are very few books that have them these days that aren’t just purely horse books.  Then was added to this the missing brother, love interest and so on.  Not a hugely original plot, the ending was easily guessed but the good writing held me to go through and finish it. Scott was a tad macho for me, I wouldn@t find anyone who killed in the remotest interesting, but that’s me and the sex stuff was a bit OTT for me too.

Yet, there’s a major plot/narractive difference here.  Megan doesn’t go through any process of finding she loves Scott at the last minute, which in the Anna school of literature seems to be the  major plot device for heroines.  Shes pretty full on and open  about Scott from the start which is refreshing. What she does goes through is the major climax of the plot which opens the way for them to be together, a purely dramatic function.  Nice!

Leave a Reply

