Of Mind or Matter by Sreejit Poole

Of Mind or Matter

Sreejit sent me this his book to review, so I hope what I say is ok!!!!

The book starts off on the good premise of Ballard leaving his home and randomly driving to somewhere new to begin a new life, this sort of opening really appeals to me, and once he arrives in Blue Bell, he meets an eclectic array of characters and begins new work, new home and people. There is an air of unreality in the treeless town which is engrossing.  Then there is the appearance of the strange woman who lives permanently under a tree. Here the plausibility broke down for me here, as this woman was so much an Eastern mystic that she didn’t for me fit into the stereotype of an American world, let alone when she appears in Ballard’s bedroom.   Likewise  Saul who lives with three  ex-wives reminded me dimly of some Eastern god, but maybe I’m wrong.

From this point the book, I’m afraid lost me because the underlying philosophy is so contra to my own Christian belief. If you enjoy tales of mystical enlightenment, then maybe you’ll love this, and on the whole it is well written. I did say to Sreejit I reserve the right to comment as a Christian and so I have to.  The ideas mooted here are the usual eastern belief that you have to work to get God with you, that you have to change yourself to find the way to sort yourself out. This misses completely the idea of God’s completely unconditional love, he wants us as we are, he loves us as we are, we need to undergo no long journey to find him, he’s already here.  Through Jesus we find healing from the hurts of the past and can begin anew.  Yes we will begin to change and address things, but he’s there with us, it’s not the lonely difficult unloving path that Ballard has to follow.

So this book, while well written, is not for me!

Leave a Reply

