Woman on the edge of reality by Linda Parkinson-Hardman

Woman On The Edge Of Reality

I can’t write this review without some spoilers, sorry!

This book just could not but fail to appeal to me, having read so many American books lately, this is set in Cornwall, familiar and lovely to me.  A single woman, Rosemary arrives at a holiday cottage to spend a week’s break.

There is virtually no dialogue, but the minute by minute details of how she spends her time. This could be tedious, but there is just the right balance of inner thought and action that you get drawn in. You wonder why she is there, and slowly you begin to get hints. She’s running from something and she’s carrying a load. She explores the village and meets people – it reads almost like she’s coming home as she makes acquaintances.  There is an instance where she finds an abandoned house, it really was like  you were being prepared for her to buy it and move to the village, but now, I think it’s a huge metaphor for her life. I could empathise with how she began to hear and feel nature around her as she wraps herself in silence.

She rashly goes swimming on her own, and nearly drowns, bringing more to the fore about her life, her marriage to James and the new person she is becoming. Rosemary has been becoming Rosie over the years as she realises how her marriage is based on lack of communication and avoidance of intimacy.  I didn’t see the twist at the end, I felt there was going to be a way to reconciliation, and that her mystery lover was her husband.  There is a little intrusion of the narrator spelling out Rosie’s perspective but it’s a light touch.

A gentle story but powerful as Rosie moves into her new self.  Loved it!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Parkinson-Hardman
    May 30, 2012 @ 17:51:33

    Thanks so much for sharing a review and I’m so glad that you enjoyed the novel too. I must admit I hadn’t realised just how personal writing a novel could be because I’ve always written non-fiction. As for that trouble with Amazon I’d no idea it was so difficult to do. It never occurred to me to promote in different countries until after the free period had ended and as I’m based in the UK with little desire to travel stateside again then it felt OK. That’s an interesting point you raise about the problems of downloading in Austria – do other eBook retailers have the same problem?

    Reply

    • annarashbrook
      May 31, 2012 @ 08:16:44

      I’m afraid I don’t know about other eBook retailers, I haven’t managed to get beyond Kindle yet! I agree, fiction is very personal and I’m often aware that I’m writing about me rather than the character!

      Reply

      • Linda
        Jun 01, 2012 @ 10:35:30

        Hi Anna

        I just wondered if I might be really cheeky and ask if you might do me the honour of posting your review on Amazon for me. I would be enormously grateful and it would really help me too.

        Thanks in anticipation.

        Linda

      • annarashbrook
        Jun 01, 2012 @ 11:08:36

        Of course, no problems! I’ll put it on .co.uk but it’ll appear also on the .com a bit lower down the page.

      • Linda
        Jun 01, 2012 @ 13:41:31

        Thank you so much I’d really appreciate that 🙂

Leave a Reply

