Drew in Blue by J.M. Kelley, May’s book of the month


 

Sorry this is a repeat from the old blog, but I’ve updated it!  This book makes it into my self defined Stag lit, for honestly showing the blokes side of chicklit!

I never read other book reviews or even about the author before I read a book, I want as few preconceptions as possible, and not to absorb other people’s ideas.  And sometimes  too much information isn’t needed! Its funny though, often when I go afterwards to learn more, others back up my views or I’ve guessed rightly about the author.

In this case, Drew, the main character had me wondering whether the author was male or female, because apart from  a few stereotypical bits, SHE had got the male viewpoint really well which is often difficult.

A single guy coping with a baby – and the picture you get of Drew at the starts bodes no good.  As you get to know him, his mother dying so  young, being in foster homes, makes you expect him to be a waster – he is of sorts but is also a painter.  His coping with his son Nick, is so well depicted, I was there as he tries to even feed the baby, and cope with the sleepless nights. I did half expect Nick’s mother to try to reclaim him but she didn’t and such an obvious device would have spoilt the book.

Like so many main characters, he is completely oblivious to his real feelings for Kris. This is such a common factor in main characters that I’m  beginning to see it as like the Shakespearean fatal flaw, over all humanity – take Ted in Ted’s Island for example, and throughout literature, the heroes eyes are opened to the true love/enemy at the last-minute.  So I guess I should just get used to it. 

Still, I loved this flawed man who through being a father moves to adulthood and maturity. Drew will be one of my favourite characters for quite a while!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. J.M. Kelley
    May 29, 2012 @ 19:45:40

    Anna, thanks so much for this fabulous review, and for the honor of Book of the Month! I’m beyond thrilled!

    Reply

    • annarashbrook
      May 30, 2012 @ 13:23:34

      It’s so great to hear from you, I dither about contacting other authors when I do a review in case they’re not happy and I’m glad you liked the review, it really was a good read!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

